review logoDon't miss out on this week's update loaded with the latest in vocal soulful and afro house music...

Jean Carne "Was that all it was" (Opolopo Remixes)(Society Hill Promo)

Back in 2013, soul/jazz vocalist extraordinaire Jean Carne revisited her 1979 disco anthem "'Was that all it was" for her critically acclaimed Butch Ingram produced comeback album "Flashback", now man of the moment Opolopo (Peter Major) has been pulling out all the stops and adds his celebrated boogie/soul/funk influenced touch to take the song to a whole different level.

Elementicsoul featuring Nhlanzeko "Make believe" (Cool Staff Records Promo)

Forthcoming Cool Staff Records is the phantasmagorical "Make believe" by South African artists Elementicsoul and Nhlanzeko, to make a long story short this expertly crafted soulful production featuring the beautiful vocal stylings of Nhlanzeko and enchanting synth melodies over a smooth yet intriguing musical backing is guaranteed to cast a spell on you. Nuff said...

Stephanie Cooke "I never told you (you could stay)" (Remixes)(KingStreet Records Promo)

Back in 2003, Stephanie Cooke graced us with the wonderful "I never told you (you could stay" (taken from her debut album "Everything"), now this iconic single returns in a brand new scintillating remix by Japanese DJ/producer Masaki Morii who delivers a smooth verily mellifluous re-imagination. Also included are the fantastic Frankie Feliciano interpretation and the charming 'R&B' version of the song from 2003.

Therd Suspect and Aku Powercut "The appeasing" (Pasqua Records Promo)

South Africa's Therd Suspect and Aku Powercut join forces to bring us "The appeasing" soon to be available through Pasqua Records. To cut right to the chase, the undeniably mesmerizing "The appeasing" using gentle yet captivating afrocentric rhythms as playground for inebriant galactical melodies and subtle vocal chants is guaranteed to send the dancers into a frenzy.

Xoly Devine featuring DJ Reo BG "Ukhethile" (Cultures Records Promo)

Slated for a December release on Cultures Records is "Ukhethile" by songstress Xoly Devine and DJ/producer DJ Reo BG. Beyond the shadow of a doubt, this uber soulful production featuring the amazing vocals of Xoly Devine alongside sublime jazzy keys, dreamful chords, sweet steel drums and smoothly groovin' rhythms is sheer musical bliss and comes highly recommended.

Sulene Fleming "Solo" (Future Spin Records Promo)

We welcome Future Spin Records to Spirit of House with their inaugural release "Solo" by former Brand New Heavies vocalist Sulene Fleming. The original version is spreading an uplifting vibe through the infectious funktified backdrop, exquisite jazzy keys and the incredible vocals of Sulene Fleming, while Lenny Fontana's vibrant truly entrancing remix transforms the song into a sure-fire prime time weapon.

Soulsearcher "Feelin' love" (2019 Remixes)(SoulFuric Deep Records Promo)

In late 2002, Marc Pomeroy (under his Soulsearcher moniker) dropped "Feelin' love" an all-time feel-good house record featuring the unmistakable vocals of Donna Allen, classy strings, wicked guitar and a fervid funked-up backdrop. Now the track returns in fresh remixes by Australian remix maestro Dr Packer who adds his magical disco inspired touch and Italy's Mattei & Omich who deliver a club stomper sure to set the dance floor on fire.

Ohyea Muziq presents "Summer Sampler Vol. 5" (Ohyea Muziq Promo)

Right in time for South African summer (which runs from around mid-October to mid-February), Ohyea Muziq present the latest edition in their beloved "Summer Sampler" series. Similar to the previous installments, you are treated with a verily chameleonic selection of previously released as well as unreleased vocal and instrumental tracks from the likes of Abel Daizer, Bruder Prince featuring Norah Jones, Ceez Da Geek, Deeper Beats, DJ Hloni, DJ Thes-Man & Tobetsa Lamola, Matthew M, Miss Patty and Mr Zee Morez & DJ Smooth; without question there is something for everyone on this multifarious compilation.

Rahiem vs B. McKnight "Mr. DMAX BmoreSoulful Remixes" (CyberJamz Records Promo)

We close this weeks update with the Damon Ramsey's (under his Mr. DMAX disguise) glittering four-to-the-floor re-imaginations of Brian McKnight's "Anytime" (from the same tittled album released in 1997) and Raheem DeVaughn's "You" (from his 2005 debut album "The love experience") which stay faithful to the spirit of the original yet take the songs straight to the soulful oriented dance floors. Until next week...