review logoThis week's update is verily eclectic and brings you only the very latest and best in soulful and afro house music - enjoy !!

Various "Vibe Boutique Records ADE 2017" (Vibe Boutique Records Promo)

In celebration of the annual ADE (Amsterdam Dance Event) music festival which ended just a couple of days ago, Vibe Boutique Records present an absolutely glamorous verily eclectic selection of soul infused gems from well known artists artists including Glenn Underground, Loftsoul, Vittorio Santorelli, Karla Brown, Marc Cotterell, Doreen Younglove, Monodeluxe, Jaidene Veda, Kelvin Sylvester, Lee Wilson, Djazz Set, V.underground, Keenan, Ross Couch and many more. Undoubtedly, there is something for everyone on this fantastic compilation.

Various "Bodikela x ADE 2017 Sampler" (Bodikela Recordings Promo)

Up and rising Bodikela Recordings present their towering and truly eclectic "ADE 2017 Sampler" which includes not less than fourteen blazin' hot productions froman illustrious list of artists such as Paul Solaris, Amun Raah, Mpeelo, Tapes, Dana Bryd, Jus Nativ, Carryn Kramer, Dyrho,. DJ Prince Lloyd, Wara Ganre, K-Modi, Divided Souls & Samuri, Sio Blackwidow and Enoo Napa to name just a few. You are taken on a blissful and exhilarating musical journey that ranges from soulful over deep to afro-tech, perfectly emphasizing the multifaceted sounds Bodikela Recordings is renowned for.

Federico d'Alessio & Giulio Bonaccio featuring Aaron K Gray "Reason" (KingStreet Records Promo)

Forthcoming to KingStreet Records is "Reason" by Federico d'Alessio and Giulio Bonaccio, a top-notch soulful production oozing with the beautiful emotive vocals of Aaron K Gray. From Federico d'Alessio comes a verily uplifting and intriguing interpretation, Giulio Bonaccio delivers a glorious latin/jazz influenced rendition, Masaki Morii serves a lively and fresh organic rework, and last but not least Corvino Traxx drops a fervid tech house remix.

First Choice "The player" (Mike Maurro Remix)(Brookside Records Promo)

While native New Yorker Mike Maurro's outstanding remixes of Heatwave's all time Disco classics "Boogie nights", "Too hot to handle", "The groove line" and their brilliant slow jam "Always and forever" have just been released on 12" vinyl, Brookside Records are preparing the release of Mike Maurro's brilliant re-imagination of the seminal First Choice classic "The player" dating back to 1974. To make it short, Mike Maurro has once again added his magical touch to the song, with his interpretation staying true to the original yet oozing with a fresh contemporary feel; beyond doubt his ten minute extravaganza is sheer musical bliss. The other side of the 12" will feature the original version of the song.

Jaidene Veda featuring Ursula Rucker "Humble pie" (DNH Records Promo)

The latest single taken from Jaidene Veda's phenomenal critically acclaimed  "Heart of gold" album is the Peter Morris produced "Humble pie", a marvelous soul song oozing with the unrivaled spoken word poetry by Ursula Rucker and the one-of-a-kind sultry vocals of Jaidene Veda. Next to the album version and magnificent broken beat flavored dub by Peter Morris this release features up-tempo mixes by Nick Holder who transforms the song into a smooth yet captivating deep house gem laced with tantalizing synth melodies and thrilling rhythms.

From the Vault: LaTrece "I want to thank you" (The MK Mixes)(4 to the Floor Records Promo)

4 to the Floor Records continue to revive some of the most memorable house music anthems with the re-release of the MK (Mark Kinchen) produced cover of the Alicia Myers classic "I want to thank you" performed in grand style by LaTrece B. Kinchen (originally this track came out on Area 10 in 1993). This record perfectly showcases the signature truly unique sound and style that made MK famous in the 90', with the main vocal version oozing with the beloved uplifting New York house sound from yesteryear, while the stripped back dub is an utterly hypnotizing sure-fire dance floor bomb. Finally, there is the 'Downtown Mix' a tribute to the Alicia Myers original.

Deep House Pick: Rick Wade "Conscience EP" (UNKNOWN season Promo)

DJ/producer Rick Wade returns to Japanese label UNKNOWN season with the superb "Conscience EP" to be released on vinyl in a couple of weeks. The title track is a super melodious and entrancing slice of celestial jazzed-up deep house bliss coming complete with a stellar remix by Takuya Matsumoto on a moody Detroit-esque tip. Hugo Lx re-imagination of "Authentideep" from Rick Wade's prior release "Destination unknown" is truly bodacious, and finally there is "Mack equation" a dreamy disco inspired groover.

Afro House Pick: Elliott DJEV Venegas "It's just a Sample EP" (Toupee Records Promo)

Just released on Toupee Records is the slammin' "It's just a Sample EP" by Elliott DJEV Venegas loaded with two fierce tracks guaranteed to jam-pack the floor. First up we have "Olle mami", a soulful and melodic yet haunting afro/latin infused track using compelling percussive rhythms as playground for mellifluous male spoken words and delightful jazzy keys. Next is "Amame (just a touch)" an utterly hypnotizing afro house track built around inexorable tribal-esque rhythms, spacy synths and alluring female chants.

Traxx Pick: Marc Cotterell featuring Morris Mobley "Music in me" (Plastik People Promo)

Marc Cotterell is taking us back in time with "Music in me", a phantasmagorical verily enticing deep house production oozing with a classic Kerri Chandler inspired feel that features a wicked live guitar by Morris Mobley (aka Slikk Tim) and lush keys over a relentlessly thumpin' backdrop. The 'Shelter Mix' replaces the guitar with inebriant synths and cool vocal sprinkles, and last but not least Tuff Vibes relax the vibe on their groovy organic rework.