House Masters Frankie Knuckles

The "House Masters" series was launched back in 1998, now Defected Records present a truly special installment with this commemorative compilation in celebration of the unrivaled music legacy of the one and only Godfather of House Music Frankie Knuckles. The project began in February of last year, with the Chicago legend hand-selecting the productions and remixes he wanted to be featured on the career-spanning retrospective. The compilation includes all his most influential records such as "Tears", "The whistle song" and "Your love" alongside seminal remixes for other artists such as Inner City, Sounds of Blackness, Rufus & Chaka Khan, Alison Limerick and First Choice (full track list below). Beyond the shadow of a doubt, Frankie Knuckles was the true icon of house music, he shaped the music for nearly four decades and was responsible for the term House itself which was derived from the famous club The Warehouse in Chicago where he played during the late '70s and early '80s. All profits from the sale of "House Masters: Frankie Knuckles" will go to the Frankie Knuckles Fund, a charity launched by Elton John last year after the death of the pioneering DJ and producer.

Defected Records have also released a fascinating video of label head Simon Dunmore interviewing Frankie Knuckles in 2011 about his illustrious career:

Defected presents The Interview with House Master Frankie Knuckles
Defected presents The Interview with House Master Frankie Knuckles

Track Listing:


  1. Frankie Knuckles featuring Jamie Principle "Your love"
  2. Frankie Knuckles presents Satoshi Tomiie "Tears" (Classic Vocal)
  3. Frankie Knuckles "The whistle song" (Sound Factory Mix)
  4. Alison Limerick "Where love lives" (Classic Mix)
  5. Hercules & Love Affair "Blind" (Frankie Knuckles Remix)
  6. Frankie Knuckles featuring Roberta Gilliam "Workout" (1992 Vocal Mix)
  7. Frankie Knuckles with Jamie Principle "Baby wants to ride"
  8. Andrea Mendez "Bring me love" (Classic Frankie)
  9. Frankie Knuckles "Only the strong survive" (Club Mix)
  10. Frankie Knuckles "It's hard sometime" (FK Classic Club)
  11. Adeva "Beautiful love" (Extended)

CD 2

  1. Inner City "Whatcha gonna do with my lovin'" (Def Mix)
  2. Sounds Of Blackness "The pressure" (Frankie Knuckles Classic Mix)
  3. The Nightwriters "Let the music use you" (Club Mix)
  4. First Choice "Let no man put asunder" (12" Frankie Knuckles Remix)
  5. Frankie Knuckles "Rain falls" (FK Original)
  6. Rufus & Chaka Khan "Ain't nobody" (Hallucinogenic Version)
  7. Loose Ends "Hangin' on a string" (Frankie Knuckles Club Mix)
  8. Frankie Knuckles featuring Adeva "Too many fish" (Classic Frankie Version)
  9. Lisa Stansfield "Change" (Knuckles Mix)
  10. Pet Shop Boys "Left to my own devices" (Frankie Knuckles Royal Piano Version)
  11. Frankie Knuckles presents Director's Cut featuring Jamie Principle "I'll take you there" (Director's Cut Classic Signature Mix)